Brynkinalt Hall is a Grade II* listed building. The central portion of the present house was completed by Sir Edward Trevor in 1612. The building, which is three storeys high, is constructed of brick, cut on site. The impressive Great Hall was once an open courtyard, and the coaches entered via an arch where the stairs are now situated. The original Jacobean Oak panelled Hall still remains giving a glimpse of the original house.
Extensive remodelling was carried out in 1808 to the design of Charlotte, Viscountess Dungannon, whose taste embellished the surrounding grounds and park. Charlotte added two extensive wings to the house including the large Dinning and Drawing Rooms, each with their own Ante Rooms, two small morning Rooms known as the Boudoirs and a conservatory with stunning view across the Ceiriog valley. Some of the features of her design are recorded in a historic book of drawings, plans and sketches giving a fascinating glimpse of the thoughts and ideas that led to her final designs. Charlotte also added many gothic touches such as castellation’s and turrets and built a number of gate lodges, follies and a double walled garden.
The Trevors are direct descendants of a union which took place in 942 between Tudur Trevor, King of Gloucester, and Angharad, daughter of Howel Dda, King of Wales. However the family can trace their heritage even further back to the marriage of Severa, daughter of the Roman Emperor, Maximus, who died in 388 and Gwrtheyrn Gwrtheneu (Vortigen), the 82nd King of Britain.
The family are also descendants of Llewellyn the Great, Prince of Wales (1194-1240), and the Kings of Ireland.
The Trevor Family have a rich and illustrious history. The Family remained loyal to the Crown throughout the Civil War, and in 1662 Marke Trevor was created 1st Viscount Dungannon by Charles II for gallantry in wounding Oliver Cromwell at the Battle of Marston Moor.
The family also includes several renowned characters including Sir John Trevor who was one of the few Welsh Speakers in the history of the House of Commons to date. The Duke of Wellington’s mother was also a Trevor and the Duke used to visit his grandmother here and accompanied her to nearby Llangollen to see the now infamous Ladies of Llangollen.
Brynkinalt has been home to the Trevor Family since it was built in 1612 and generations of Trevors and their families have worked hard to maintain the house. The house and setting is now being used for a wide range of business activities, bringing new life to historic buildings, restoring landscapes and ensuring that the estate retains a viable place in the nation’s heritage and local community long into the future.
The Estate is currently managed by Iain and Kate Hill-Trevor.